Discover More | Tennis

Junior Tennis Open 2016

Each year, pupils from ten of our feeder schools compete in the successful Mill Hill Junior Open Tennis Competition at Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn.

This year, the eleventh successive year of the competition, (aimed at Under 11s, Years 5 & 6), attracted over 60 pupils, and once again it was a full day of tennis for the children with main competitions and consolation events. We were delighted to welcome some new schools to the event, and we were fortunate that the weather was on our side, with matches being played both indoors and outdoors.

This year we saw new schools emerging to the final stages of the competition.

In the boys’ event the eventual winner was the talented Kim Sikka, (Devonshire House) who out rallied Rohyn Birdi (Quainton Hall) to a 4-1 victory.

In the girls’ event, Sofia Tyler (Hill House) took on Megan Deem (Newberries) and it was an exciting game with some exceptionally consistent and creative points from both girls. The match was so even that it as eventually decided on a tie break with Sofia claiming the 4-3 victory.

Trophies were presented to all the Quarter, Semi and Finalists by British Tennis player Joshua Sapwell who is now playing on the Men’s circuit amassing ATP ranking points. Josh reached the Quarter Finals of Junior Wimbledon two years ago and is currently training with the Gosling Academy.

Our Fourth Form pupils assisted in the running of this event and helped to make it a really enjoyable day for all the children who participated.

The provisional date for this next year’s event is Friday 9th June 2017. Please direct any queries to

group photo

Results 2016: U11 Boys

Winner Kim Sikka (Devonshire House)
Runner Up Rohyn Birdi (Quainton Hall)
Semi Finalist Alex Woolfe (Arnold House)
Semi Finalist Iainni Melikian (St Anthony’s)
Q Finalist Daniel Elson (Edge Grove)
Q Finalist Purab Garg (Quainton Hall)
Q Finalist Sam Lambert (Devonshire House)
Q Finalist Gus Mackay (Devonshire House)

Results 2016: U11 Girls

Winner Sofia Tyler (Hill House)
Runner Up Megan Deem (Newberries)
Semi Finalist Cordy O’Sullivan (Edge Grove)
Semi Finalist Kierstan Johnson (Hill House)
Q Finalist Carla Ravich Calafell (Hill House)
Q Finalist Sophie Coyle (Newberries)
Q Finalist Eshana Palasuntheram (Edge Grove)
Q Finalist Marie Parsnejad (Hill House)