History of the School
The village of Mill Hill is situated on a mile long ridge over 400 feet above sea level. Mill Hill School is situated on The Ridgeway, an ancient trackway used and adapted during the past 2000 years by various settlers including the Romans, Saxons, Danes and Normans.
On either side of the ridge the ground slopes steeply away to give spectacular views to Epping Forest and the Chilterns in the North and East, and to the North Downs and Harrow on the South and West.
The Mill Hill School Foundation occupies a 120-acre site, part of which formed the gardens of Ridgeway House, the house of botanist Peter Collinson. Collinson was one of the most important importers of rare and exotic plants into English gardens. Many of the species that he introduced to Mill Hill in the 18th Century continue to flourish today in the grounds of the School and do much to provide the unique and beautiful setting the School enjoys.
The school was set up in 1807 by a committee of non-conformist merchants and ministers. They decided to place their school outside of London because of the "dangers both physical and moral, awaiting youth while passing through the streets of a large, crowded and corrupt city". Their foresight has provided generations of Millhillians with quite unique surroundings, peaceful, secure and rural and yet within minutes of links to Central London.
Initially a boys only school, Mill Hill welcomed girls into the Sixth Form in 1975 and went fully co-educational in 1997.