fb-pixel

News

Book of the Week: A Pocketful of Stars

Our Book of the Week this week is A Pocketful of Stars by Aisha Bushby

A beautiful tale of growing up, family, and figuring out who you are, A Pocketful of Stars is the stunning debut by Aisha Bushby. It was shortlisted for the Children’s Book Award and the Branford Boase Awards this year.

Set between London and Kuwait, the story follows Safiya, a 13-year-old gamer with a big imagination, who finds things tricky at home when her parents split up.

When her mum suddenly falls ill, Safiya must rely on her gaming skills to piece together her mum’s history, and work to build something that will tie them together forever.

This beautifully-written story is both sad and heart-warming, and will appeal to fans of Ross Welford, Cathy Cassidy and Kiran Millwood-Hargrave.

My three-hashtag summary of this beautiful book would be: #Relationships #Dreams #Love

By Mrs Hunt, Belmont Librarian